The Eternal Sunshine

Yesterday, on Martin Luther King Jr. Day, I decided to make a new collage focusing on dreams.  It seemed fitting, and I titled it The Eternal Sunshine

I wanted to create something that would make people feel happy and inspired.  I tried to give it a little hippie vibe, as if it could have come from the 60s and 70s.  I filled it with strong, beautiful women covered in vibrant, decadent clothing and accessories.  And I didn’t do so in order to glorify excess or money or even physical beauty, instead I wanted to celebrate fun and passion and fantasy.  I picture these women as sort of my spiritual leaders, reminding me of who I am and who I can become.  I then sprinkled in a little Brandon Flowers because, well, nothing makes me happier.

Materials:  A $4 thift store frame that I painted a seafoam green, blue and purple markers I used to color in some of the lips, a glue stick, my trusty gold glitter Mod Podge, and recent issues of Nylon, Elle, W, Rolling Stone, and Entertainment Weekly. 

I took a wide shot of it, which is at the very bottom of this post, and also posted some close-ups.  I hope you enjoy it and that it makes you happy!

This entry was posted in Emerald City, Happy Little Trees, The Killers and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Eternal Sunshine

  1. OysterSunshine says:

    Long live Mimosa, strong women with a purpose, and Brandon Flowers.

    P.S. Wonderfully inspiring collage.

  2. Poopy McGee says:

    Wow. These collages are absolutely amazing. I’m serious. I’m not just saying this because I’ve had tonight.

  3. Poopy McGee says:

    I meant to insert the word “beer” in between “had” and “tonight.”

Leave a Reply

