Let Them Eat Cake

This morning I received a much welcome phone call from my sister.  My 4-year-old niece Ila asked to speak with me.  She immediately said, “Hi Auntie I miss you so much!”  I assured her that I miss her too and that I think about her every single day.  Her 5th birthday is coming up on May 13th.  She asked me if I was going to come to her birthday party.  I told her that I wouldn’t be able to make it to her party this year, seeing as I live in California and she is in Ohio, but that I would see her for the 4th of July.  I told her that when all the fireworks are going off, that I will be with her.  She then said, “Alright.  I’ll save you a piece of my birthday cake!”

And this is why my niece Ila Rose is the greatest person ever to walk this planet.

This entry was posted in Emerald City. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Let Them Eat Cake

  1. OysterSunshine says:

    Ila Rose sounds like a great niece.

Leave a Reply

