Hazy Shade of Andrew McCarthy

There’s something about the clueless, deer in headlights, vacant gaze of Andrew McCarthy that just fills up my insides with fluttering baby butterflies.  Objectively, he isn’t really all that special to look at.  In fact, it stands to be one of the greatest mysteries of the 80s how that kid became such a teen dream sensation.  But to this day, I long for him to ask me to the prom so I can zip up a makeshift, gaudy, pale pink gown and dance the night away with him.

And don’t even get me started on how totally hot he is in Less Than Zero.  That movie seriously makes my heart stop.  Teamed up with the equally luscious eye candy that is Robert Downey Jr., McCarthy is immersed in the wealth, hardcore drugs, and sexy nightlife of 1980s Los Angeles.  How I wished that he would shift his dopey lovesick gaze from Jami Gertz onto me.  The soundtrack from the movie featured The Bangles’ cover of Hazy Shade of Winter, which is one of my favorite songs of all time.  The original by Simon and Garfunkel is beautiful, but The Bangles version is just so bad ass. 

Time time time, see what’s become of me.  I’m still the same girl in love with a floppy haired brat packer.

This entry was posted in Cinematic Slushie, Eardrum Desserts, Lusty Luau, Pop Culture Popsicle and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

